The Spoon Theory

The Spoon Theory has assisted me on several occasions to try to explain to loved ones why at times I am unable to attend some functions ….. Brillliant!

Barracuda Mom

Or How to Explain an Invisible Illness

Since I began blogging again, I’ve wanted to share this story because it’s been so helpful to me when I try to explain my fibromyalgia and everlasting fatigue with other people.

The Barefoot Baroness has beaten me to it, so please read her post at http://barefootbaroness.org/2012/02/25/1343/.

Whether you suffer from an illness that leaves you drained or know someone who does, this is a must read.  I hope it will help you understand how I can get so tired that I don’t think I could get out of bed if a train had derailed and was heading right at me.

View original post

3 thoughts on “The Spoon Theory

  1. Hi,

    I have MS and I use the Spoon Theory all the time! It helps me get through every day in a balanced way (well – most of the time! 🙂 )

    I also find it helps to explain to others who don’t suffer from a pain or fatigue condition a little of how it is and how I have to manage the various happenings of life!

    Best wishes

    Christine

    • Hi Christine, I totally agree with you. The spoon theory is definitely the closest analogy for chronic illness that I have found so far. It is also warming to find a kindred spirit, the smiley face in your message tells me alot. I look forward to sharing our journey’s with each other. Health & Happiness, Narelle 🙂

Leave a Reply....

