chronic pain, Fatigue, medication side effects, Pacing, Spoonie, Uncategorized

It’s Another Bed Day But That’s Okay..

20120808-194017.jpg

I had many plans for my day, but my body provided very loud messages that it needed to be a “bed” day. I had a big day yesterday, and against medical,advice I had scheduled 3 activities( I’ve been advised to aim for one per week). My tax appointment had already been rescheduled 3 times, so I NEEDED to keep this appointment. I also had my fortnightly appointment with the Pain Psychologist and a prescription that needed to be collected from the hospital pharmacy, which the waiting time for this is never below 1 hour. Yes, it was a long day, but my theory was if I completed all activities while I was out on the one day, I would ensure a rest day today. I just didn’t expect to crash so hard and be in such intense pain. Lesson learnt!!

8 thoughts on “It’s Another Bed Day But That’s Okay..”

    1. Thanks Rachel, because I’ve always operated at 120% in all I did, resting without guilt is like acquiring a new skill. Slept most of today also so am thinking tomorrow should be a great day πŸ™‚

      1. I know, sleeping is the hardest. I always try to think of little 10 year old me, pulling the covers over my head and saying “Mommyyyy I’m too sleepy to go to school today!” I try and think, don’t worry 10 year old me, you’ll be doing a LOT of sleeping later. πŸ˜‰

  1. Been there, done that! The experts say to not overdo it when we have a good-body day but I hate to waste it. I know why they say that we should pace ourselves but they don’t seem to understand how it feels to be held down by pain and fatigue and how good it feels when our body cooperates. We make our choices and live with the outcome. But it still stinks. πŸ˜€ Thanks for the good post.

    1. Hi Pat, you have understood completely. I’ve always been a highly organized, list orientated person and yes certainly want to make the most of a good day πŸ™‚ thankfully its winter here and it’s not so bad being indoors. Thank you so much for your understanding & support.
      Health & Happiness πŸ™‚

    2. Hi Pat, I totally agree with you. Being told to pace yourself when feeling good is so difficult as my mind is saying “Quick, let’s accomplish as much as I can while feeling good”. Enough time has passed now to know from experience that this method always fails πŸ™‚
      it sure is about choices and outcomes, and this week, I decided to go full force for an entire day and have then slept for most of the last 3 days. Oh well, the job list is now buildig up again. I guess I’m still not comprehending that four letter word and still need more lessons to pace more effectively.:-)

      Health & Happiness

      1. Or maybe you will “go for the gold” on good days. I have found pacing myself only works when I have symptoms pretty well controlled. If they aren’t – I take the good days when I can get them and use them to their fullest. Or maybe I’m a slow learner. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply....

