What We Hide from Ourselves

A must read article on the effects of “Invisible Illnes”… Thank you Fighting Fibromyalgia, your words are sincerely appreciated by many.

Fighting Fibromyalgia

DepressionThe amazing responses I received yesterday on my post “Fibromyalgia’s Invisible Face” has had me thinking today about what else do we hide.  We put on a happy face and do our best to hide the amount of pain we’re in.  We hide our emotions. If you’re anything like me, hiding those negative emotions from others often means you also hide them from yourself.

I was only diagnosed with fibromyalgia last fall.  I’ve suffered from nonstop chronic pain for nearly 5 years.  I suffered from bouts of chronic pain related to my TMJ disorder off and on since I was 15.  Pain has been a part of my life for a long time.  I haven’t always accepted it though.  For a long time, I ignored it under the premise that if I ignored it long enough it would go away.

To get through the days, I would throw up a wall…

View original post 547 more words

3 thoughts on “What We Hide from Ourselves

  1. Pingback: HIDING IN PLAIN SIGHT | My Life as Carrine

  2. Thanks so much for sharing my post and for the amazing compliment. I try to be very honest in my writing about my living with fibromyalgia. It’s been so gratifying to hear that my words resonate with other fibro and chronic pain sufferers. Thanks!

Leave a Reply....

