Remembering spontaneity

What a social life is really like for chronic pain sufferers written by Chronic Rant

Chronic Rants

A friend called me up the other day and asked if I wanted to hang out.  He meant right away.  I didn’t hear my phone ring and by the time I got the message it was too late, but it really made me wonder: when did I lose all of the spontaneity in my life?

I remember a time not too long ago when I would find myself without plans on a Saturday, so I’d pick up the phone and call a few
friends to see who was around.  I remember a time when I’d decide at a moment’s notice to go away overnight.  It got to the point that I’d pack a bag and be out the door within 30 minutes.  Then I started keeping a toiletry bag always packed with spares of everything, so I could leave even faster.  A last-minute date?  A random outing with friends?  A…

View original post 263 more words

Leave a Reply....

