Uncategorized

Functional disc replacement to treat chronic low back pain

See on Scoop.itMedical Engineering = MEDINEERING

BYU researchers have conceived an artificial spinal disc replacement that mimics the natural motion of a healthy human spine. The technology has been licensed to Utah-based Crocker Spinal Technologies.

 

While the discs are critical for movement, they can become the source of back pain when they degenerate or herniate – a major health problem that affects 85% of Americans and drains the U.S. economy to the tune of $100 billion every year.

See on news.byu.edu

3 thoughts on “Functional disc replacement to treat chronic low back pain”

  1. I know that the Osteogenesis Imperfecta played a role in the poor outcome of her operation. Many people have benefited greatly by the surgery. If the surgeon had listened to me and her other surgeon the mess could have been prevented. She was not a good candidate. Good luck!

    1. Thanks for this feedback. I was so excited when I read the article. Both my some and I suffer from prolapsed discs. I did some damage in my late teens thru sport then a severe car accident a few years back. I was encouraged that perhaps there was successful surgery on its way but I think I’ll way a bit longer! Poor Vic, she really has had a run of poor luck or as I say to my mum ” was I put together with spare parts, because my body has worn out way too early in life?”. 🙂

Leave a Reply....

